Home » My Blogs » Goodbye, Car. Hello, Bicycle.

Goodbye, Car. Hello, Bicycle.

New Hyundai

I left my car in front of the bank. Voluntary surrender letter and keys dropped in the overnight box, the feeling was bittersweet. It was my first, and most likely, last car.

Last Summer, at age 23, I passed my driver’s test. I was not eager to buy a car. I had lived most of my college years without one, getting rides from friends, taking the bus, riding my bike and walking everywhere. I bragged about not paying insurance and a car note.

That summer, I bought a car out of necessity. I found a wonderful violin teacher in a city two hours away from me, and I wanted to commute to take lessons. (I was bent on getting into Curtis Institute of Music, a highly ambitious, and maybe a bit, unrealistic goal.)

Flash forward several months later, my hair is a tad bit grayer from worrying about insurance and car note payments each month, my belly is a bit fatter (those long commutes make fast food a delight), and I am so much lazier. I used to walk three miles to the grocery store. With my car, I drove.

To the point, the sweet in bittersweet is a new found life of perpetual fitness. Commuting via bike will ensure a healthy lifestyle for years to come. There are many benefits to biking. I look forward to it. Hey, I lived 23 years without driving.

Not to mention, I would not be able to afford the monthly payment while on the road, and who would pay for a car they’re not driving?! And for when I get back, I figure after cycling 4,200 miles across the U.S., biking 10 miles to work and school everyday isn’t going to be that big of a deal.

I will miss blasting dubstep and classical music from my speakers. There’s nothing like good car speakers. Other than that, there are no negatives to my decision. I’m on my way to sustainability and a itsy bitsy teenie weenie yellow polka dot bikini….

4 thoughts on “Goodbye, Car. Hello, Bicycle.

  1. Because the bank will sell it faster. I don’t have time to worry about it. I kind of made the decision to give up the car last week. I guess I could have sold it if I thought about it a few months ago. Alas, procrastination calls for desperate measures. 🙂

  2. Why didn’t you sell it instead and pay off the note?

    I agree, being debt free provides so much more freedom and less worries.

Leave a Reply

