Home » My Blogs » Angelic Pennsylvanians, Demonic Hills

Angelic Pennsylvanians, Demonic Hills

I always had a place to sleep in Pennsylvania.  That says so much about the people. Perfect strangers willing to house a crazy girl who set off across the country with her dog–now, that’s what I’m talking about.

At the end of the day, when the hills felt like they tore my legs to shreds, wonderful people invited me into their beautiful, spacious homes without a second-thought. They fed me and even treated me to outings such as a young adult retreat, ice cream and kayaking (first stop in MD, actually). I don’t know what I would have done without these angelic-like persons. Without them, those demonic hills would’ve sent me home to my mom.

Pictures from Pennsylvania:

Hope Broecker, a fellow cross country cyclist who set me up with a place to stay in Harrisburg, PA. We had to part ways, but hopefully, we'll meet up in Missouri.

Hope, a fellow cross country cyclist who set me up with a place to stay in Harrisburg, PA. We had to part ways, but hopefully, we’ll meet up in Missouri.

Last rest stop in Pennsylvania.

Last rest stop in Pennsylvania.

Young Adult Retreat volley ball game. It's kind of a long story how I got here. It was a freezing, windy day. Fiji and I were on dangerous roads. A man named Dan Stuber rescued us from the cold. His wife, Deb, and her friend, Barbra, connected us with a wonderful family, the Shannons, in a neighboring town, who hosted us for two nights. It was through the Shannons that I received an invite. They also babysat Fiji for the whole day.

Young Adult Retreat volley ball game. It’s kind of a long story how I got here. It was a freezing, windy day. Fiji and I were on dangerous roads. A man named Dan Stuber rescued us from the cold. His wife, Deb, and her friend, Barbra, connected us with a wonderful family, the Shannons, in a neighboring town, who hosted us for two nights. It was through the Shannons that I received an invite. They also babysat Fiji for the whole day.

image

New friends made at the retreat.

JW Music in Lemoyne, PA let me practice a violin in their studio. I was so happy to touch a violin!

JW Music in Lemoyne, PA let me practice a violin in their studio. I was so happy to touch a violin!

Friendly cows.

Friendly cows.

The Chimneys Violin Shop in Boiling Springs, PA let me stop by and choose from all their violins to practice on.

The Chimneys Violin Shop in Boiling Springs, PA let me stop by and choose from all their violins to practice on.

Violin, student maker practicing his carving skills in the shop.

Violin, student maker practicing his carving skills in the shop.

Master maker, Nelson P. Steffy, designing another violin. Love his spectacles!

Master maker, Nelson P. Steffy, designing another violin. Love his spectacles!

I’d like to especially thank Barb Connor and Pattie Hutchinson for their continued support, calling me and offering to bring me supplies! Also, Ray Garza and Jenny Arata, thank you for your continued support! What would I do without you guys? In addition, Miss Jackie, you’re a sweet heart. I truly appreciate your support and concern!

5 thoughts on “Angelic Pennsylvanians, Demonic Hills

  1. You are magnificent!!! Post more pics I’m getting a birdseye view of thing I would probably never see…. Stay encouraged, If you need anything please allow me to help!

Leave a Reply

