Home » My Blogs » Rain Kills Toddlers

Rain Kills Toddlers

Day One on the Great Allegany Passage! We climbed our first mountain. Out of the 22 mile uphill delight, we could only do 16 for the day. Rain poured, and Frostburg truly was frosty.

Even though we didn’t log many miles, we saw some cool stuff, and the landscape beckoned our attention. At some point, we heard a train approaching. Playfully, I held my thumb out for the operator. Save me from this hill; He laughed. The second go round, it was raining, cold and my legs felt the burn. He burst out laughing again, but I was dead serious. Stop that train and pick us up, fool! I thought.

Fiji ran alongside the bike for 18 miles, up the mountain and into town. Wow, she’s a trooper. However, I did get some dirty looks. People assumed a baby was in the back of the trailer, being rained on, and developing pneumonia in front of their eyes. I’m surprised social services or the police didn’t appear given the intensity of their horrified faces.

Some sights:

Heading up the mountain, looking at the world below us. 2,500 feet above sea level. We,ll reach the highest point tomorrow, about 3200 ft.

Heading up the mountain, looking at the world below us. 2,500 feet above sea level. We’ll reach the highest point tomorrow, about 3200 ft.

The view in back of us.

The view in back of us.

Cumberland Bone Cave--People discovered fossils in these caves. Alone on the trail, and the fact that the cave entrance resembled a face, I didn't linger around for long.

Cumberland Bone Cave–People discovered fossils in these caves. Alone on the trail, and the fact that the cave entrance resembled a face, I didn’t linger around for long.

Another tunnel, not as long and scary as Paw Paw.

Another tunnel, not as long and scary as Paw Paw.

 

3 thoughts on “Rain Kills Toddlers

  1. Hi Jasmine,
    it;s Paivi calling! Great thing that you are on the way and everything is fine (well, except the rain and the hills.. and expecially the hills). I’m now in Chester, Illinois, and having (a much deserved) day-off… Everything has gone pretty fine, but I must say I never thought USA would be so full of hills… For example Illinois should be called Hillinois…
    But there you go, you have to take every hill at the time and not to worry too much of tomorrow.
    The start of this journey was a bit difficult, I was not uset to cycle and the weather was cold and rainy, and quite often I felt that oh no, I can’t do this… But now I actually really WANT to cycle: the landscapes, the turtles, the people… they are just great.
    So. All the best to you and Fiji – and have fun!
    Paivi

  2. Wow! Go, Jasmine. I am impressed with what you and Fiji have done, especially in the cold and rain. Wait until you get past Missouri and the sun is out all the time. I love your positive attitude. There will be times when you’ll want to quit but it always gets better.

Leave a Reply

